Drawing The Inside Straight: 24th Annual Jack Daniel’s World Invitational Barbecue

On Friday, August 31 the draw for the 24th annual Jack Daniel’s World Invitational Barbecue was held in Lynchburg, TN.  Last year, thanks to our first career Grand Championship at the inaugural Bluemont BBQ Bash in July, 2011 Degüello BBQ was fortunate enough to be selected in the Virginia state draw.  We were thrilled to represent our home state, and we made a lot of great memories.  Our friend Randy bought us a bottle of Jack Daniel’s Single Barrel Whiskey in Lynchburg, and I decided that we’d save that bottle for the day we were selected to go back to the Jack.  I expected that bottle to get pretty dusty before the seal was broken, if it ever was.  Yes, we had a bung in this year’s Maryland draw from our win in Frederick MD at the Swinetastic BBQ Festival.  But with six teams in the Maryland draw, I really thought we’d used up our luck in 2011.

I’m a superstitious person when it comes to competition barbecue, so on Friday morning I made sure to wear my “lucky” Go Naked BBQ Show cap.  I wore it the day we won our first GC, I wore it on the day of last year’s Jack draw and so it seemed like a good idea    to wear it on Friday.

The day seemed to drag on forever, and although a few updates trickled out at 5:00 PM there was still no definitive word .  And then the word came that, incredibly, we’d won a second consecutive state draw with a single bung.  It’s good our neighbors were not home because they probably would’ve thought I was having a seizure.

So now it’s on to the Jack.  We are going to do our best to do a better job across all four categories, but we’re also going to enjoy this year.  And now, pardon me while I have another little taste of that Single Barrel.

Published in: on September 5, 2012 at 10:42 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/drawing-the-inside-straight-24th-annual-jack-daniels-world-invitational-barbecue/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats again Kit. You were the first team I was checking scores on last year and I was thrilled I didn’t have to scroll too far down the list on more than one category! Don’t forget that hat and best of luck to you this year.

    JM

  2. Best of luck my friend! I hope you and your other lucky charm, Sharon, get a call or 2 or 3! Marilyn’s in Ohio for the Weekend of Fire, and I’m stuck at the beach. Working. Really.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

