Chicken Fried Steak, Waffle Fries and Cherry Cheddar Bars

It was a snowy day and night, so we decided to go with some dependable, hearty southern food.  I’m a big chicken fried steak lover, so I fired up the Krups Professional Deep Fryer and cooked six pieces of meat and a big serving of waffle fries.  Then for dessert I made cherry cheddar bars from a recipe I found in the Cook’s Country Magazine “Lost Recipes” edition.

For the chicken fried steak I used a recipe from Texas Cooking Online which recommended adding paprika to the salt and pepper on the meat.  I also added paprika, along with salt and pepper, to the gravy.

I really love my Krups fryer because it has an odor filter and splash screen and it can be completely disassembled for cleaning.  However, I am still learning how much and at what temp to cook certain foods.  Since I needed to cook the beef 5-6 minutes I might try a lower temperature next time to keep the breading from getting too brown.  I went with peanut oil at 375F this time and may step it down to 350F next time.

Cherry Cheddar Bars

The Cherry Cheddar Bars were really easy to make.  I got the recipe from the Cook’s Country “Lost Recipes” edition of the magazine but you can find the recipe online here.  If you can find this magazine I’d pick it up.  It’s full of old-fashioned recipes that will probably remind you of a special dish your grandmother used to make when you were a kid.  I’ve found a lot of recipes I want to try in this magazine, and fortunately Sharon is happy to be my own unofficial “Test Kitchen Taster”.

Published in: on January 31, 2010 at 9:13 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/chicken-fried-steak-waffle-fries-and-cherry-cheddar-bars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

