2010 Competition Schedule Coming Together

OK, the checks are in the mail and it’s time to get ready for the inaugural season of Degüello BBQ.  We’ve signed up for four comps here in the Mid-Atlantic so far.  They are:

Pork In The Park, Salisbury MD April 16-17

Middletown BBQ Festival, Middletown DE May 21-22

Safeway BBQ National Capital BBQ Battle, Washington DC June 26-27

Cue and Cruz, Louisa VA July 16-17

We’re looking at some additional competitions  later in the season, but we’ve got some personal commitments we need to resolve before firming up the latter half of the year.  But for now, we’re just looking forward to getting out there and competing!


Published in: on February 26, 2010 at 9:34 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/02/26/2010-competition-schedule-coming-together/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Deguello BBQ – that may be the absolute best and most arcane name for anything I’ve ever seen. I’ll never forget my 7th Grade year and the compulsory course in Texas History. “The playing of the Deguello…” Man, that’s awesome.

    I see you’re on the Mid-Atlantic, but there are sure a lot of Texas references in your blog. Accordingly, this might be of interest. I’m both a word nerd and a BBQ buff. I recently added a post that looks into the origins of the word “barbeque”. You might be interested in looking it over. And by all means, let me know what know about the word.
    http://www.backwordsblog.com/2010/03/italian-french-mexican-is-there-no.html

    Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Clark. Yep I’m a native Texan so I had 7th grade Texas History too. I chose the name of my team for more than one reason. The “Degüello” bugle call which, as I understand it, literally means “slit throat” but was slang for “no quarter” in the context of its use by the Mexican Army, was my way of saluting my Texas heritage. I’m not saying I intend to actually slit the throat of my competitors (hee hee) but rather I intend to bring it “Texas style” out here on the Mid-Atlantic BBQ circuit. Also, “Degüello” is the name of a famous album from a certain “Little Ol’ Band from Texas” that I am sure I don’t have to name. Hopefully you recognized them in my logo, or at least their pig, cow and chicken counterparts. Incidentally, I purposely made the chicken the drummer because he plays the skins with, er, drumsticks…….

      I’m checking out your blog right now!

      Kit


Leave a Reply

