Countdown to PITP and chicken prep

Indoor chicken cooking from the February twin storms

Well, it’s just over a month until our first comp ever: Pork In The Park in Salisbury MD.  Sandy Fulton, the event organizer, has shown great enthusiasm and patience, promptly answering every (probably) annoying email I’ve sent.  125 teams on tap, so that will be quite an intro into the world of competitive BBQ.

The combination of twin snowstorms in early February and work related travel has caused me to get behind on some of my prep.  Although it shouldn’t be a problem getting the various supplies I’m missing rounded up, I just haven’t had adequate time to devote to refining my technique and recipe for that most troublesome of categories, chicken.  After reading George Hensler’s book Startin’ The Fire and seeing lots of Facebook posts about late winter yardbird fixations (Tom, I’d gladly cook chicken every weekend if it could get me away from my J-O-B) I feel like I ought to be doing more.  A LOT more.  But at this time, I am approaching PITP with the goal of gaining familiarity and comfort with the whole KCBS process as well as meeting some new friends.  Anything beyond that is a plus, so we’ll see how it goes.  Thus far I’ve gotten the most consistent chicken results with a combination of about three techniques/recipes I’ve tried, so that’s how I’m approaching this first contest.

That’s all for now.  To paraphrase the Seven Dwarves, “I Owe I Owe, So It’s Off to Work I Go”……..

Published in: on March 11, 2010 at 7:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/countdown-to-pitp-and-chicken-prep/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

