Big day of burgers, bikes and BBQ

Yesterday was a big day for Degüello BBQ and Bonzai Sports in Falls Church.  I’ve been working there part time since March of last year, and I handled food for the Triathlon Road Show.  Thanks to our volunteers from Booz Allen and my coworkers from the shop, I was able to crank out the following:

  • 100 burgers
  • 75 hot dogs and sausages
  • 50 chicken thighs
  • Six rack of pork ribs

It was a lot of fun to talk to manufacturer reps, customers and staff about bikes and ‘cue, and I think the chicken and ribs were especially good.  For the chicken, I braised boneless skinless thighs dusted with Pork Barrel BBQ All American Spice Rub in margarine filled steam pans in the Caldera until they reached 145F. Then I placed them on the Weber Kettle and finished them with Sweet Baby Ray’s Original BBQ Sauce and one more light dusting of rub.

After I got home last night, I fired up the Weber Smokey Mountain and put on a “special” brisket injected with marinade and rubbed with Dizzy Pig Red Eye Express Rub.  I like to use pecan wood for smoke with the Dizzy Pig rub as the coffee from the rub goes great with the pecan smoke to create a great flavor profile.

Sharon with the drinks for the event.  That’s a lot of soda!

Caldera at the Triathlon Road Show

Ribs in the smoker

Loin back ribs sauced and ready to be consumed by ravenous triathletes

Brisket ready for marinade and rub



My WSM and CyberQ II setup at home


Brisket on the smoker

Sliced brisket


Published in: on March 21, 2010 at 10:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/big-day-of-burgers-bikes-and-bbq/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

