Pimpin’ out the WSM

In anticipation of the first ever Middletown BBQ Cookoff in Middletown DE on May 21-22, I decided to invest in a second WSM.  This time  around, I went with the 22.5″ to accommodate extra large briskets and a horizontal rib rack.  The WSM is a really well made smoker, and I’ve gotten incredible results with my 18.5″ cooker.  But in my opinion there are a few things about the WSM that need improving.  To me, the most glaring deficiency is the access door.  The stock door is really thin and flimsy, and on the 22.5″ especially, the door is very ill-fitting.  So, just like I did with my 18.5″ WSM, I replaced the stock door with a stainless steel model from C&C Grillin.  These guys offer a range of parts that take a great smoker and make it even better. In addition to the stainless door, I also replaced the stock charcoal ring with C&C’s high flow version.  Finally, I’m adding temp probe grommets to allow me to route the cables neatly.

My pimped out WSM looks good, and it performs even better.  I may add a rotisserie kit so I can cook ribs on a Rib-O-Lator.  But that’ll come later.

Side by side comparison (C&C door on the left and stock Weber door on the right)

High flow charcoal ring

Published in: on May 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/pimpin-out-the-wsm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

