Cherry Lambic BBQ Sauce

Since I’m on vacation this week I’m trying a few recipes I’ve been wanting to get to for awhile.  Yesterday I made cherry lambic sauce from a recipe in Steve Raichlen’s book Ribs Ribs Outrageous Ribs.

I chopped up a cup of shallots and browned in butter.

I added two cups of tart Rainier cherries.  I picked up this really neat cherry pitter that will pit four cherries or olives at a time.

I added the cherries to the butter browned shallots and heated until they were soft.

Instead of using a true lambic, I decided to substitute Tröegs Mad Elf Ale.  The Mad Elf is brewed with honey and cherries and I think it fit the recipe nicely.

I added the Mad Elf to the cherries and shallots and reduced the liquid by about half.  I then turned the heat down and added ketchup, brown sugar, cherry preserves, honey, Worcestershire sauce, salt and black pepper and allowed the sauce to thicken.

I allowed the mixture to cool, pureed and added a little more Worcestershire sauce and black pepper.

I’m expecting my Ribolator to arrive any day, and as soon as it does I’m going to smoke some ribs marinated in Ommegang Three Philosophers Quad Ale, onions, garlic, allspice and bay leaf.  Of course I’ll use cherry wood for smoke flavor.  Check in soon for a post on the ribs!!

Published in: on August 4, 2010 at 8:59 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/cherry-lambic-bbq-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

