As 2010 draws to a close

As 2010 draws to a close, we want to take time to recognize some of the great people we’ve met out there on the competitive BBQ trail.

We’ve met the Smokin’ Gnome and amateur comedian Sal Gobat.  Jon Sibol of Widespread  BBQ has offered encouragement, advice, and a helping hand.  Mark McDowell of Lyin’ Pigs has more fun than anyone I know (except maybe Sal).  Ron Templeman and his wonderful family make me wish I had more of own family around.  Bob McCoy AKA “Ylee Kyoti” is like the Forrest Gump of BBQ but in a good way.  It seems that anytime he’s around good things happen.  The BBQ Guru Team (Bob Trudnak, Kenny Baker and Shotgun Fred Pirkle) is a big part of our small team’s success with their products and their encouragement.  Mike Richter and Barbara Driscoll of Chix Swine and Bovine and Dan, Dan and Chris of 3 Eyz BBQ inspire me to be more consistent and step my game up.  Brian and Marilyn Meagher, we love your podcast and you’ve given us more encouragement than just about anyone.  And Jeff Burkett and the “Mayor of South Riding” Jeffrey Burkett, you guys can join us anytime Smokis Porkis is on hiatus.  I know I’ve missed people with this list, and if I missed you please accept my sincere apologies.  You’re all important to us, so please remind us in 2011.  Or remind us right here with a comment.  That way, we’ll know you’re actually reading!

There are a couple of people that have really made this year, and I want to give them special mention.  If it weren’t for Tom and Christy Adams of Virginia BBQ Pirates, we wouldn’t be out there competing.  I stumbled upon Christy’s beans recipe online almost two years ago, and I sent a little note letting her know I liked it.  From there, Tom and Christy encouraged us to get involved in the world of competitive BBQ.  They’ve offered encouragement, advice and friendship and Sharon and I appreciate everything they’ve done for us.  We wouldn’t be here without you guys and that’s the truth.  And Tom please don’t be hurt that I had to reject your suggested team name of “Tube Snake Q.”

Heath Hall and Brett Thompson of Pork Barrel BBQ, you guys have really become good friends.  Your focus on the myriad of projects you are executing inspires me to work harder every day.   I wish I had a tenth of your energy, creativity and business acumen, because if I did I’d be the Daymond John of BBQ apparel with my Degüello BBQ clothing line (Be afraid FUBU.  Be very afraid).  Your friendship and encouragement is much appreciated.  We’re really looking forward to you taking your business to the next level, and here’s to seeing you in Kansas City and Lynchburg someday soon.  2011 would be nice…..

OK that’s it for now. In 2011, we’re going to try and post on a more regular basis.  Our competitive schedule will be a little more ambitious, so check in often to get the scoop on Degüello BBQ!

Published in: on December 17, 2010 at 8:57 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/as-2010-draws-to-a-close/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the kind words Kit. It was a pleasure meeting you and Sharon this year on the BBQ trail. That is one of the things that makes this pastime so great, the genuine, friendly, helpful people that participate in it. BBQ people are the best. Just from seeing how hard you guys work and the results you’ve had, this your first year, you will be in Lynchburg before you know it. Hope to see you there.

  2. Looking forward to 2010, also love your blog

    • Thanks for reading Brad and best of luck to you in 2011!


Leave a Reply

