The iGrill: Geeky fun with BBQ and your iPhone

 

I wanted to do a quick review of a new product I picked up about a month ago.  The iGrill is a remote cooking thermometer that displays data on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch via Bluetooth connection.  In addition to seeing your temp readout(s) on your iPhone or other device, you can also control settings.  The iGrill provides two temp readouts via individual probes.

 

 

The device readouts are really nice, and  if you have an iPad, you can get all three readout modes on a single screen.  Although this is a nice option (thanks for “letting” me  use your iPad Sharon), I found the temp graph screen on my iPhone to be perfectly acceptable.

Before I purchased the iGrill, my main concern was with Bluetooth connectivity and range.  Turns out I had nothing to worry about; the iGrill maintained contact up to 150′ away with a building between the device and my phone.

So is it worth it?  At $99, there are cheaper alternatives.  But I was intrigued by the idea of a device that would link to my iPhone, and thus far I’ve been very pleased with the performance.  If a remote read and control thermometer that will link seamlessly with your Apple device, then give it a look.

For more info on the iGrill, see the iDevices website.

 

Published in: on April 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/the-igrill-geeky-fun-with-bbq-and-your-iphone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Kit, that looks really neat! If I hadn’t recently purchased the latest Maverick Redi-Chek, I’d jump on one of these.

    Thanks for the review!
    ~brian

  2. How much would something like this cost to buy, it looks like a brilliant idea and something that I would like to buy to make sure that my bbq food is done to the right temperature.

    • It’s $99.00. Available at Apple Stores or online.


Leave a Reply

