Anchors Aweigh

On April 13-14, Degüello BBQ competed in the first ever Naptown barBAYq in Annapolis MD.  After the brisket debacle at the Lexington NC BBQ Capital Cook-Off we were looking for a little better result.   47 teams competed at this event and Degüello BBQ took 2nd in ribs and 10th overall.  Congratulation to 3Eyz BBQ on their GC.  Dominating performance and a return to form for Dan and Chris with a first in chicken and ribs too.  Wow, maybe WE should invest in a new trailer too!

Here’s the contest rundown:

Chicken: 16th out of 47 (160.5714)

Disappointing result after the 3rd place finish in this category in Lexington.  I think I may have overcooked the chicken a bit, and that’s all it takes to slide down the ranks.  I did like the taste, but it just didn’t have the tenderness I was shooting for.  Maybe I better overnight some more of that Albemarle County chicken we got at Conrad and Hinkles for future comps.

Ribs:  2nd out of 47 (173.1428)

I knew these were good as soon as I started cutting into them.  It was the first time I’ve had three racks that good, and it was tough deciding on which ones to place in the box.  If we could cook ribs like that every week I’d be happy.

Pork: 25th out of 47 (152.5714)

Same recipe as Lexington, different prep and presentation, but a worse result.  I truly thought the appearance and tenderness were better than the last comp, but it just didn’t do that well.  Hard to say why.

Brisket: 27th out of 47 (148.0000)

Overcooked both briskets and paid for it.  Straight 7’s on tenderness which was fair.  What surprised me though was the taste scores, which were also pretty low.  Same flavor profile we’ve been using, so I’ll just chalk it up to individual preference.

People’s Choice Pork:  13th out of 34:  We chose to submit a completely different pork prep for the People’s Choice.  It wasn’t bad, but I didn’t put as much work into this entry as the KCBS boxes.  Plus I had to improvise on the sauce when I couldn’t find the bottle I was looking for (Sharon found it in a side of the truck door the following week).  I was surprised to learn that our entries did not have “double blind” numbers.  Unscrupulous competitors “could’ve” taken advantage of that.  Also, I later found out that some competitors turned in ribs and brisket, too.  If I’d known that I would’ve stuck some of those 2nd place ribs in my pan.  Either way, I think that was not in the spirit of the competition and probably influenced the outcome.

This was a great first year competition.  Big thanks to Don Chomas for organizing a superb event and we will be back next year for sure.

Published in: on May 30, 2011 at 9:10 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deguellobbq.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/484/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] were good ribs.  Not Naptown good, but pretty good.  I ditched the idea of putting the ribs on 30 minutes early that I employed […]


Leave a Reply

